Blog Feed

January and February 2021 CAA and Austrocontrol Exams cancelled at Luton.

04 Jan

Austro Control examination guide has to be suspend the use of digital flight computers

We regret to inform you that the Austro Control examination guide has to suspend the use of digital flight computers (e.g. ASA CX-3) for all ECQB-based exams under their responsibility from the 1st of December 2020 on.

24 Nov

Limited availability of Austro Exams

We are sorry to inform our students that there is extremely limited availability for Austrocontrol exams this year. As such, if you wish to remain on the old syllabus, we strongly recommend all of our students to book their exams as soon as possible. Austrocontrol new syllabus implementation to take place on 31st December 2020

29 Sep

Austro Control grants extension period

It has been confirmed by Austro Control that all applicants who have already taken at least one examination paper at Austro Control GmbH before the 31st March 2020 shall be granted an extension of the 18-month period for the entire theoretical knowledge examination by a further 6 months.

Furthermore, Austrocontrol has announced new syllabus exams will only be permitted as an initial attempt from 1st January 2021.

09 Sep

New syllabus delayed to 31st March 2021

Latest start realistically is January 2021 now.

The 31st of December 2020 cut-off for the latest date for candidates to sit their first ECQB 06 exam with their existing training schedule has been extended.

The UK CAA have made the decision that they will delay the original date by 3 months to the 31st March 2021.

The latest date confirmed for a candidate to sit their first ECQB 06 exam is now the 31st March 2021 and exams will remain available for the full 18 months until 30th September 2022.  

Any candidate who has not completed the full set of examinations by this cut-off date will be required to start again following the ECQB2020 syllabi and examinations.

18 Aug

EASA PART-FCL New Syllabus implementation

Following a conversation with the UK CAA today:

A New theoretical knowledge Syllabus will be implemented in parallel with the existing Old Syllabus by CATS from 1st August 2020 and independently the UK CAA will offer New Syllabus exams utilising ECQB2020 from 1st August 2020.

From the 1st January 2021 candidates will not be able to take Old Syllabus exams utilising ECQB06 for their first attempt.

ECQB06 will remain available in parallel with ECQB2020 until the end of June 2022 for candidates who have already started the Old syllabus series.

The latest date for a student to take their first exam utilising the existing Old Syllabus is 31st December 2020 permitting a full 18 months to complete their exam series on the Old Syllabus utilising ECQB06. 

The advice from CATS is that if you wish to remain with a familiar Old Syllabus and to take ECQB06 exams then enrol with CATS at least 3 months before the 31st December 2020 cut-off date to commence an initial attempt at the Old Syllabus series exams before 31st December 2020.

Dr Stuart E. Smith CATS

14 Jul

Contact us

CATS, 110 Butterfield,
Luton, LU2 8DL
+44 (0) 1582 434 222

The ISO 9000 family of quality management systems (QMS) is a set of standards that helps organizations ensure they meet customer and other stakeholder needs within statutory and regulatory requirements related to a product or service. ISO 9000 deals with the fundamentals of QMS, including the seven quality management principles that underlie the family of standards. ISO 9001 deals with the requirements that organizations wishing to meet the standard must fulfill. CATS meets requirements of the ISO 9001 standard.