Become a Private Helicopter Pilot

The Private Pilot License (PPL) is the first step in becoming a helicopter pilot.  Every pilot remembers their 'first solo' flight for the rest of their life. The PPL allows you to fly for pleasure and take passengers with you.

PPL training starts with theory study and a series of exams, before moving on to the 45-hour flying course. CATS are here to guide you from start to finish.

Once you have your PPL, the world of aviation is open to you and you will be sure to go on and add further qualifications, such as: a night rating, mountain rating or a type rating on a larger helicopter type!

As you can see, a Helicopter PPL is just the beginning of something special.

UK - various locations

TRIAL FLIGHT - This is the perfect time to try out flying an aircraft to see if it is something you enjoy and want to pursue further.

MEDICAL - This is taken at this point to ensure that you will be able to continue to the end of the training without a hitch.

PPL/BASIC FLIGHT TRAINING - This is the first 45 hours of flight training, covering core skills.


NIGHT RATING - This course allows you to use the privileges of your PPL at night.

IR - The ‘Instrument Rating’ provides the necessary training to permit flying in poor weather.


CATS Private Pilot courses have been specifically designed to give access to the very best facilities the UK has to offer. The courses utilise our theory training school on the edge of London and the UK’s most highly-regarded flight training facilities.

  • Be at least 16 years of age at course commencement
  • Hold a Class 2 Medical certificate
  • Have fair capability at maths

Approx £20,000+. Payments are made in instalments throughout the course.

Please contact us to discuss your exact requirements and select the pathway you require.

Contact us

CATS, 110 Butterfield,
Luton, LU2 8DL
+44 (0) 1582 434 222

The ISO 9000 family of quality management systems (QMS) is a set of standards that helps organizations ensure they meet customer and other stakeholder needs within statutory and regulatory requirements related to a product or service. ISO 9000 deals with the fundamentals of QMS, including the seven quality management principles that underlie the family of standards. ISO 9001 deals with the requirements that organizations wishing to meet the standard must fulfill. CATS meets requirements of the ISO 9001 standard.